Trip to Grocery Outlet on 4 19/15

By Amazmerizing

How (and why) I grocery shop!

Spent $154.80
Saved $212.38 (According to their calculations comparing their prices with other popular retail pricing)

Cereal… full size boxes off brands but brands we know even some that are bonus sizes (like extra 20% free) 10 boxes between 1.59 and 1.99 each total $19.10 such a good price and sometimes the teenagers wont eat anything else 3 box marshmallow charms; 2 box frosty flakes; 1 box frosted mini wheat; 2 box apple jacks (Name brand); and 2 box hunny nut cheerios… SCORE!!!

Beef and cheese flour taquitos El Monterey 28 oz. 20 pack frozen $2.99 (hubbs and son love em esp w fresh guacamole… oh yep!)

California blend deluxe veg 5 lb frozen $5.99 (same price as walmart idk like broccoli carrots cauli) throw em in soup, stew, stirfry etc!

Mixed frozen bagged vegetables 2 @ .99 each total $1.98 ( the lazy days 😉

Fresh green and red bell peppers 8 @ 2/1.00 total $4.00 (use these in everything… slice, cube, ring em up etc. and freeze straight or saute fresh or stuff em or???)

1- 3 pk romaine hearts lettuce $2.69 ( my fave) gotta have my fresh green salads 2 or 3 x’s a week.

Young fresh green onions 2 bunches $1.00 (gonna grow these out).

Soft fresh Galbani Italian mozzarella cryovac in whey 8 oz each 9 @ 3/1.00 total $3.00 (…what the??? such a deal!!! took em home, drained off and saved the whey (whoohoo) and made up 3 quarts mozzarella in oil… YOWZA! What a deal!)

Young asparagus fresh 2 -1lb bundles @ 2/3.00 total $3.00 (YUMMZ!)

Splurge 1.25 gallon McColl’s strawberry swirl ice cream tub $5.99 (the boys’ fave)

Mexican organic heirloom grape tomato medley 2/$4.00 total $4.00

Mexican organic cherry tomato 2.00 (these are the small bubble packs I need to see if I find a distinct difference in flavor from these and the grape tomato)

Margarine blue bonnett 2 lb package 4 @.99 ea. total $3.96 for 8 pounds… heck yeah baby!!! (these are over 2 dollars each everywhere else) gonna make up some more ghee!

All natural Butterball oven roasted turkey breast 8 oz sliced 4 pks @ 1.49 each total $5.96 we love these in paninis and as coldcuts or on omelettes. Great straight from the freezer.

Daily honey bacon ends and pieces $6.49 I usually get a bit of a better deal but it was an extra big pack so I went for it… froze it. Its good, used it many times. Often there are really big meaty chunks of bacon my hubby swoons over. Sometimes I cook up the whole pack and freeze half and pack a mason jar with the rest along with an oxy absorber and it stays lovely in the fridge for weeks! Great on blt’s and over salads and in cheesy broccoli soup…MMMM!!!!

Pillsbury crescent rolls 2pk. 16 ct ea pk 3@$1.49 each total $4.47(can make tons of stuff with these …mmm crescent braid with my homemade ricotta and some o that mozza)

Mini brick kraft colby chedder mild 1lb 2 @1.99 ea total $3.98 (gonna wax these and store and will prolly get 2 more if they have em next time 😉

Cracker barrel x sharp cheddar 2 lbs. (yeah we were completely outta cheese… this is great for shreds and cheese balls and on salads and in cheese sauces and just chunked on toothpix mmm cheesie…) total $4.99

Greek vanilla kefir w honey (live active cultures) 24 oz bottles 2 @ $1.29 ea total $2. 58 with these I should be able to make up at least 3 good quarts from each bottle… mmm probiotic delishUSness!!!

1 pint Tillamook just plain fresh sour cream… prolly for dips and dressings and saucin total $.99.

1 tub plain Tillamook Greek yogurt… gonna separate the whey and get some fresh cream cheese… needed a lil more whey for my next batch o ricotta $1.49.

2 half gallons Silk vanilla almond milk $1.99 ea total $3.98.

2 boxes apricot gelatin… gonna make apricot mousse apple blossom jelly… 2 @ .39 ea total $.78.

Del Monte mango snack fruit cups 4pk 4 @ .99 each total $3.96 the hubby loves his mango!

2 bottles spicy brown mustard …cuz its good @ 99 each total $1.98

Cara Mia Marinated artichoke hearts…I FREEK’in love these things… 6 jars 6.5 oz each @$1.49 each $8.94.

fresh guatemala cantaloupe 2@ 2/5 total $5.00 made up some cantaloupe liqueur… gonna take way too long but so worth it!!!

Ripe avacados 6 @ 2/1 total $3.00 …we gotta have em!!!

Bagged sugar snap peas…yup an addiction too…of mine! $2.99

Fresh whole milk 2 gallons @ $2.79 ea total $5.58 (wow the price went down)

2 packs 18 medium eggs @ 1.99 each total $3.98 (flimsy cartons but I have saved good cartons at home… easy switch)

4-33oz (1 liter) clear swing-top (a.k.a. Grolsch ) bottles… of Cucina extra virgin olive oil 2 @ 6.99 each total 13.98 and Cucina balsamic vinegar 2 @ 4.99 ea total 9.98 These are a high value item for me because I use lots of both things, and the specialty bottles can be used for my homemade acv or sodas or oil infusions or ferments etc. BONUS!!!

Spent $154.80
Saved $212.38 (According to their calculations comparing their prices with other popular retail pricing)

Now I’m off… chicken en mole with my fresh green salad for dinner!

My comparisons in upcoming update!

Trip to Grocery Outlet on 4 19/15
By Amazmerizing

UPDATE- Online price comparison

Note that many prices may already be at normal or nearly normal rock bottom prices elsewhere. I usually will forego many items and am fully prepared to do without until they go down (or sometimes I never buy it again) if they are priced over what I consider a good price… or even normal or a little more… unless it is a necessity like my hubby’s mango!!!

Also I was literally scouring the web for hours…they would show they had the product in the correct size and say “IN STORES ONLY”… walmart.com in particular was great at this! And the biggest problem was being the sizes… most of the stores if they have similar products on sale for the same brand they are different sizes for some reason. The cereals were ridiculous! Most sites wanted huge boxes sold in huge cases… like 16 boxes of 40 oz cereal for 49.00. Yeah, like Costco on steroids. Finding one little box of cereal for a similar price comparison was kinda crazy. And often it brought up search results when there were just mentions and no prices. Google used to get that right!!! Jus’ say’n…

Cereal… full size boxes off brands but brands we know even some that are bonus sizes (like extra 20% free) 10 boxes between 1.59 and 1.99 each total $19.10
such a good price and sometimes the teenagers won’t eat anything else 3 box marshmallow mateys charms; 2 box frosty flakes; 1 box frosted mini wheat; 2 box apple jacks (Name brand); and 2 box hunny nut cheerios… SCORE!!!
UPDATE: walmart.com has Malt-O-Meal 38 oz mateys for 5.98
mine is 17.3 oz so I figure half the price for half the amount 3 ea so $9.00
Malt-O-Meal Frosted Mini Spooners Cereal, 27 oz $3.58
kelloggs apple jacks 14.7 oz cereal 5.89 at shopfoodex.com so 2/$11.88
2 box frosty flakes (mine are 21 oz)15 oz 2.49 a kmart.com so 2@ $4.98
2 box hunny nut scooters 12 oz there was 29 oz at walmart.com for 5.98 so $5
9 + 3.58 + 11.88 + 4.98 + 5 =$34.44 my price was 19.10
total saved approx. $15.34

Beef and cheese flour taquitos El Monterey 28 oz. 20 pack frozen $2.99 (hubbs and son love em esp w fresh guacamole… oh yep!)
UPDATE: Yes we had them for dinner and they were really good!!! Yes, that is a surprise. I usually make my own and never beef, cuz I dont like them, usually! Found an old post for chicken and cheese 24 oz flour pkg of 16 @ brandeating.com for 4.99 not my kind or size but thats what there was… all the other ads mentioned mine but no prices. Actually I have purchased others for similar prices of 4.99 and up so we will say 4.99
4.99-2.99 = $3
total saved approx $3

California blend deluxe veg 5 lb frozen 5.99 (same price as walmart idk like broccoli carrots cauli) throw em in soup, stew, stirfry etc!
UPDATE:yep thats right 5.99 @ walmart…
no savings

Mixed frozen bagged vegetables 2 @ .99 each total 1.98 ( the lazy days 😉
UPDATE: yep same with these 99 cent bags, regular price
no savings

Fresh green and red bell peppers 8 @ 2/1.00 total $4.00 (use these in everything… slice, cube, ring em up etc. and freeze straight or saute fresh or stuff em or???)
UPDATE: man I have paid up to 1.99 each for these but will only get 2 or 3
I will say savings are $2.00

1- 3 pk romaine hearts lettuce $2.69 ( my fave) gotta have my fresh green salads 2 or 3 x’s a week.
UPDATE: Wow, I didn’t notice but the price was more last time like 2.79 I have even paid 2.99 in mid winter.
Savings .10

Young fresh green onions 2 bunches $1.00 (gonna grow these out).
UPDATE: Already have half an inch growth, in like 2 days!!! No savings here as I had bought some for 44 cents each a few weeks ago. So down 12 cents on 2.

Between these and the lettuce I feel I broke about even.

Soft fresh Galbani Italian mozzarella cryovac in whey 8 oz each 9 @ 3/1.00 total $3.00 (…what the??? such a deal!!! Took em home, drained them off and saved the whey (whoohoo) and made up 3 quarts mozzarella in oil… YOWZA! What a deal!)
UPDATE: sold at kmart.com for $4.49 each…only price I could find but exact product. My 9 would be $31.61… although to be honest I would never buy more than 2. Maybe 3 if I needed it for a recipe. So 3 @ 4.49 ea is 13.47.
13.47 – 3.00 = 10.47 total savings

Young asparagus fresh 2 -1lb bundles @ 2/3.00 total $3.00 (YUMMZ!)
UPDATE: At most I would pay 2 bundles for 5 so my savings has to be nothing on this one… right now anyways. seems to be normal price or almost anyway.
No savings…

Splurge 1.25 gallon McColl’s strawberry swirl ice cream tub $5.99 (the boys’ fave)
UPDATE: No savings… like I said… total splurge. They have already had it 3 times and once with fresh homemade rhubarb sauce… yumm!!!
No savings…

Mexican organic heirloom grape tomato medley 2/$4.00 total $4.00
UPDATE: I would not have bought this except for the price.
No savings.

Mexican organic cherry tomato 2.00 (these are the small bubble packs I need to see if I find a distinct difference in flavor from these and the grape tomato)
UPDATE : I would not have bought this except for the price.
No savings.

Margarine blue bonnett 2 lb package 4 @.99 ea. total $3.96 for 8 pounds… heck yeah baby!!! (these are over 2 dollars each everywhere else) gonna make up some more ghee!
UPDATE: Wrong… I am a total liar it was IMPERIAL… kmart.com has the 1 lb for 1.49 so I dunno maybe 2 dollars even for the 2 lb so 8 dollars
$8.00-3.96 = 4.04 total savings approx

All natural Butterball oven roasted turkey breast 8 oz sliced 4 pks @ 1.49 each total $5.96 we love these in paninis and as coldcuts or on omelettes. Great straight from the freezer.
UPDATE: no price to compare so I am positive these 1/2 lb sell at least for 2 dollars or more per pack so 4 @ 2 ea is 8.00
8.00-5.96 = $2.04 total savings

Daily honey bacon ends and pieces $6.49 I usually get a bit of a better deal but it was an extra big pack so I went for it… froze it. Its good, used it many times. Often there are really big meaty chunks of bacon my hubby swoons over. Sometimes I cook up the whole pack and freeze half and pack a mason jar with the rest along with an oxy absorber and it stays lovely in the fridge for weeks! Great on blt’s and over salads and in cheesy broccoli soup…MMMM!!!!
UPDATE: no price points on this but its about right sometimes i pay 5.99 but most often more.

Pillsbury crescent rolls 2pk. 16 ct ea pk 3@$1.49 each total $4.47(can make tons of stuff with these …mmm crescent braid with my homemade ricotta and some o that mozza)
UPDATE: this was a good deal several sites listed the single 8 ct pk for 2.00 so that makes it an even better deal cuz I got double the rolls at 51 cents less each pack so saved 3 times 51 is total savings $1.53 and 3 eight count rolls free OR save another 1.53 if I had to buy so approx savings $3.06

Mini brick kraft colby chedder mild 1lb 2 @1.99 ea total $3.98 (gonna wax these and store and will prolly get 2 more if they have em next time 😉
UPDATE: Usually $3 ea or more so savings is for 2 and 6 minus 3.98 is 2.02 savings

Cracker barrel x sharp cheddar 2 lbs. (yeah we were completely outta cheese… this is great for shreds and cheese balls and on salads and in cheese sauces and just chunked on toothpix mmm cheesie…) total $4.99
UPDATE: Seen at foodservicedirect.com case of 12 for $64.05 so that comes down to 5.33 each for my savings of .34

Greek vanilla kefir w honey (live active cultures) 24 oz bottles 2 @ $1.29 ea total $2.58; with these I should be able to make up at least 3 good quarts from each bottle… mmm probiotic delishUSness!!!
UPDATE: Similar products sell for 3.39 each so thats 6.78 for 2 my savings is about $4.20

1 pint Tillamook just plain fresh sour cream… prolly for dips and dressings and saucin’ total $.99.
UPDATE: Usually runs at least 2.99 so my savings is $2.00

1 tub plain Tillamook Greek yogurt… gonna separate the whey and get some fresh sour cream… needed a lil more whey for my next batch o ricotta $1.49.
UPDATE: community.myfitnesspal.com discussion board has several brands at $4 a quart tub. So my savings are $3.51

2 half gallons Silk vanilla almond milk $1.99 ea total $3.98.
UPDATE: 1 quart is $2 at walmart.com so 2 quarts would be at least 3 dollars maybe 4. And 2 half gallons (or 4 quarts) would be at least 6.00 so my savings is $2.02

2 boxes apricot gelatin… gonna make apricot mousse apple blossom jelly… 2 @ .39 ea total $.78.
UPDATE: on frugalcouponliving.com .41 ea so i saved 2 cents each box for total savings of 4 cents

Del Monte mango snack fruit cups 4pk 4 @ .99 each total $3.96 the hubby loves his mango!
UPDATE: walmart.com has them at 2.18 so 4 of them would be $8.64 so my savings was $4.68

2 bottles spicy brown mustard …cuz its good @ 99 each total $1.98
UPDATE: no savings as I usually wont buy it unless its at least as good a price or better.no savings

Cara Mia Marinated artichoke hearts…I FREEK’in love these things… 6 jars 6.5 oz each @$1.49 each $8.94.
UPDATE: found at limelightdeals.com same price special 2/$3.00 so on 6 I saved 6 cents.

Fresh Guatemalan cantaloupe 2@ 2/5 total $5.00 made up some cantaloupe liqueur… gonna take way too long but so worth it!!!
UPDATE: At that price I’m happy! no savings

Ripe avacados 6 @ 2/1 total $3.00 …we gotta have em!!!
UPDATE: Again I am pleased with the price… only rarely find overripe ones at 3/1.00 no savings

Bagged sugar snap peas…yup an addiction too…of mine! $2.99
UPDATE: marketside at walmart.com 4.68 for 16 oz. So the savings were $1.69

Fresh whole milk 2 gallons @ $2.79 ea total $5.58 (wow the price went down)
UPDATE: has been 2.99/gal or more… my savings on 2 is .40

2 packs 18 medium eggs @ 1.99 each total $3.98 (flimsy cartons but I have saved good cartons at home… easy switch)
UPDATE: yes I lament the price of eggs these days… gotta get the hubby fixing up the chicken tractor… grrr no savings

4-33oz (1 liter) bottles… of Cucina extra virgin olive oil 2 @ 6.99 each total 13.98
and Cucina balsamic vinegar 2 @ 4.99 ea total 9.98 These are a high value item for me because I use lots of both things, and the specialty bottles can be used for my homemade acv or sodas or oil infusions or ferments etc. BONUS!!!
UPDATE: The cheapest online price I found were somewhat lesser quality bottles empty at homebrewing.org for $3.99 each, and I will need to consider the shipping cost as well. So 4 of them would be $15.96 plus tax and shipping with no oil or balsamic vinegar. I got them and over 66 ounces each vinegar and oil… yeah a no-brainer even at 23.96 all told!!! Colavita was at walmart.com 25.5 oz which is less but at 11.64 pricepoint and no bottle (it was prolly plastic) … yeah you get my drift! And thats not even saying anything about the balsamic! So to conclude I feel this was a win but no real savings, except the bottles.

TOTAL amount approx savings (unless no savings noted)
Cereals $15.34
Taquitos $ 3.00
Bell peppers $ 2.00
Galbani Mozzarella $10.47
Imperial Margarine $ 4.04
Butterball Turkey $ 2.04
Pillsbury Crescents $ 3.06
Kraft Colby $ 2.02
Cracker Barrel $ .34
Greek Kefir $ 4.20
Tillamook Sour Cream $ 2.00
Tillamook greek Yogurt $ 3.51
Silk Almond Milk $ 2.02
Apricot Gelatin $ .04
DelMonte Mango $ 4.68
Whole Milk $ .40
Sugar Snap Peas $1.69
Artichoke Hearts $ .06


TOTALS SAVED (my calc) $60.91

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT

